CHRIS ROSS, MEMBER

DISTRICT OFFICE MAILING ADDRESS P.O. BOX 835, UNIONVILLE PA 19375 F-Mail Address: rep-ross@kennett.net Web Site Address: www.repross.com

DISTRICT OFFICE LOCATION 696 UNIONVILLE ROAD, SUITE#9 WILLOWDALE TOWN CENTER KENNETT SOLIABE PHONE: (610) 925-0555 FAX: (610) 925-5408

HARRISBURG OFFICE: HOUSE BOX 202020 404 IBVIS OFFICE BUILDING HARRISBURG PA 17120-2020 PHONE (717) 783-1574 FAX: (717) 783-1589

> TO: All House Members

FROM: **Representative Chris Ross** Representative Thomas Tangretti

DATE: February 11, 2003

SUBJECT: **Proposed Legislation - Police Task Force Recommendations**

In an effort to improve Pennsylvania's support of local municipal police, we served on a Police Task Force along with Representatives Coy and Dally. As a result, we are reintroducing legislation to implement the recommendations of the Task Force. The legislation will provide for additional funding sources, more efficiently-directed funds, more assistance for joint municipal policing, better advocacy for local police, and the creation of a task force to achieve pension portability. There are twelve separate pieces of legislation that cover seven of the eight Task Force recommendations.

If you would like to cosponsor any of this legislation, please contact Dixie Minnich at 783-1574 or by e-mailing: dminnich@pahousegop.com.

1. Resolution which appoints a select committee to tackle the problem of lack of Vitte, portability between police pension funds.

Prior HR 123 Cosponsors: TANGRETTY, ROSS, COY, DALLY, ARGALL, BELARDI, BELFANTI, CIVERA, M. COHEN, ZOOZ COLAFELLA, CORRIGAN, CURRY, DAILEY, DALEY, DeWEESE, FRANKEL, GEORGE, GORDNER, GRUCELA, HENNESSEY, LAUGHLIN, MACKERETH, MAJOR, MAYERNIK, McCALL, McNAUGHTON, MELIO, R. MILLER, MUNDY, NAILOR, ORIE, PETRARCA, PIPPY, PISTELLA, READSHAW, RUBLEY, SANTONI, SCHRODER, SOLOBAY, STURLA, SURRA, E. Z. TAYLOR, THOMAS, TIGUE, TRELLO, WASHINGTON, WILT and YUDICHAK.

2. Designates the Governor's Center for Local Government Services within the Dept. of Community and Economic Development to act as an advocate for municipal police at the state level.

Prior HB 884 Cosponsors: ROSS, TANGRETTI, DALLY, COY, ARGALL, BELARDI, BELFANTI, CIVERA, M. COHEN, 2002 COLAFELLA, CORRIGAN, COSTA, CURRY, DAILEY, DALEY, DEWEESE, FRANKEL, FREEMAN, GEORGE, GORDNER, GRUCELA, HARHAI, HENNESSEY, HERMAN, JOSEPHS, KAISER, LAUGHLIN, MACKERETH, MAJOR, MANN, McCALL, MELIO, R. MILLER, NAILOR, ORIE, PETRARCA, PIPPY, READSHAW, ROONEY, RUBLEY, SAINATO, SANTONI, SCHRODER, SOLOBAY, STURLA, SURRA, E. Z. TAYLOR, THOMAS, TIGUE, TRELLO, TRICH, WANSACZ, WASHINGTON, C. WILLIAMS, WILT, WOJNAROSKI and YUDICHAK



House of Representatives COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA HARRISBURG

COMMITTEES

ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES & ENERGY LOCAL GOVERNMENT INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS LIQUOR CONTROL CHAIRMAN/SUBCOMMITTEE ON LICENSING POLICY

CAUCUSES LOCAL TAX REFORM FIREFIGHTERS & EMERGENCY SERVICES DELAWARE RIVER BASIN RENEWABLE ENERGY

LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION, MEMBER

3. Creates a low cost loan program for municipal police similar to the fund for volunteer fire companies. This is for the purchase, maintenance, and repairs of buildings, vehicles, and equipment.

aretti Prior HB 885 Cosponsors: TANGRETTI, ROSS, COY, DALLY, ARGALL, BELARDI, BELFANTI, BROWNE, CIVERA, M. COHEN, COLAFELLA, CORRIGAN, COSTA, CURRY, DAILEY, DALEY, DeWEESE, FREEMAN, GEORGE. GORDNER, GRUCELA, HARHAI, HENNESSEY, HERMAN, JOSEPHS, KAISER, LAUGHLIN, LEVDANSKY, MACKERETH, MAJOR, MANN, MAYERNIK, McCALL, MELIO, R. MILLER, MUNDY, ORIE, PETRARCA, PIPPY, HBO PISTELLA, READSHAW, ROONEY, RUBLEY, SAINATO, SANTONI, SCHRODER, B. SMITH, SOLOBAY, STURLA, SURRA, TIGUE, TRELLO, TRICH, WANSACZ, WASHINGTON, C. WILLIAMS, J. WILLIAMS, WOJNAROSKI, M. WRIGHT and YUDICHAK.

4. Imposes surcharges on criminal convictions to fund start-up costs for municipalities desiring to create police departments.

HB 1080 Prior HB 886 Cosponsors: TANGRETTI, ROSS, COY, DALLY, BELARDI, BELFANTI, CIVERA, M. COHEN, COLAFELLA, CORRIGAN, DAILEY, DALEY, DEVESE, FRANKEL, FREEMAN, GEORGE, GRUCELA, HENNESSEY, LAUGHLIN, McCALL, MELIO, R. MILLER, PIPPY, PISTELLA, READSHAW, SCHRODER, SOLOBAY, STURLA, SURRA, E. Z. TAYLOR, THOMAS, TRELLO, TRICH, WASHINGTON, M. WRIGHT and NAILOR.

5. Reallocates fine moneys from the Vehicle Code and Judicial Code to those entities Russ, Targette issuing the citation, instead of distributing them to all municipalities regardless of whether they have a local police. NOTE: Please be aware that this legislation may have a financial impact on municipalities in your district. If you would like more details on this, please ask for this information when you call my office.

Prior HB 887 Cosponsors: ROSS, TANGRETTI, DALLY, COY, STURLA, BROWNE, CIVERA, M. COHEN, COLEMAN, CORRIGAN, DALEY, DeWEESE, FREEMAN, LAUGHLIN, LEVDANSKY, MANN, MELIO, R. MILLER, SANTONI, SCHRODER, THOMAS, TIGUE, WASHINGTON and M. WRIGHT.

6. Authorizes municipalities, pursuant to their respective municipal codes, to levy a special Tangette dedicated tax for funding police services. HB1082

Prior HB 888-894 Cosponsors: ROSS, TANGRETTI, DALLY, COY, BELFANTI, M. COHEN, COLAFELLA, CORRIGAN, CURRY, DALLEY, DALLEY, DEWEFSE EPARTEE EDERMAN CONSTR CURRY, DAILEY, DALEY, DeWEESE, FRANKEL, FREEMAN, GEORGE, GRUCELA, LAUGHLIN, McCALL, MELIO, R. MILLER, NAILOR, PIPPY, READSHAW, SCRIMENTI, SOLOBAY, STURLA, E. Z. TAYLOR, THOMAS, TRELLO, TRICH, WASHINGTON, M. WRIGHT and YUDICHAK.

CR/dlm